ILC: Information, Linkages and Capacity Building.

  • This ‘tier’ of the NDIS will become increasingly important.
  • ILC is open to people who are not in receipt of Individual Funding Packages (IFPs) (and their families and caregivers). ILC is also open to people who are in receipt of IFPs.
  • ILC is part of the overall ‘ideology’ of the NDIS, which seeks to promote inclusion across the community (rather than segregated services).
  • ILC does not provide direct support services.

There are 5 main areas in ILC:

  1. Information, linkages and referrals
  2. Capacity building of mainstream services
  3. Community awareness and capacity building
  4. Individual capacity building
  5. Local Area Coordination

Thus ILC –

  • Aims to link individuals to mainstream services and build the capacity of communities, mainstream service providers (including everything from art galleries to recreational programs in school after-care) to be more inclusive, and therefore to actually provide services, opportunities, access for people with disability.
  • Is the area in which individual capacity building also sits.
  • It is the area of the NDIS where there should be a well-researched store of knowledge about local communities and services, to enable linkages.
  • Disability Support Organisations (peer support) type activities are most likely to continue under ILC.
  • ILC will be a major funding source for training. It will fund training that is designed to build the capacity of mainstream organisations to become more inclusive. This includes attitudinal change.